TAA MR 13 - 21 Friday 1 October 2021

> AUTHORITY Brad Murphy President

TINGIRA AUSTRALIA ASSOCIATION

E tsec@tingira.org.au W tingira.org.au M 0417 - 223 040



STONEHAVEN NOMINATIONS

" **The STONEHAVEN MEDAL** - Awarded annually to a Tingira Australia Association member or members for a commendable community service contribution above and beyond the normal call of duty," said Tingira President Brad Murphy from his Bundaberg HQ today.

Tingira members and friends, time to nominate a shipmate for a job well done.

The traditions of the Royal Australian Navy are deep, and the Tingira Australia Association has taken the responsibility over the past decade to keep the 'sea lanes of history' open.

Researching and displaying as much history and tradition as possible from the Clipper Ship and Nautical School Ship Sobraon, HMAS Tingira, HMAS Leeuwin, and HMAS Cerberus with their training day activities of our present generation of members and friends of the Tingira Australia Association.

The Stonehaven Medal is designed to resemble the style of the Stonehaven family crest with black and yellow stripes bearing the HMAS Leeuwin colours where the present generation of Tingira Boys received their initial Royal Australian Navy Junior Recruit training.

Nominations close 1 March 2022, winner to be announced with Tingira Day celebrations Saturday 16 July 2022.

The Cumberland RSL sub-Branch has supported the Tingira Australia Association from the inception of this award and will continue to promote joint activities of this event.

ENDS RELEASE

TINGIRA.ORG.AU

2022 nominations required



Tingira Australia Association has set about to reward a member who has gone 'above and beyond' their normal requirement of duty, either in navy, civil or community projects during the period of 2021

Please nominate a ship mate or a group of ship mates that have performed to an elite level for consideration for next year's Stonehaven Medal

> A brief explanation 100 - 500 words to describe the task by the person making the nomination Group projects are also encouraged for nomination

> > Nominations close last mail - Tuesday 1 March 2022 Nominations to be sent via email only

> > > Tingira Australia Association Email. tsec@tingira.org.au





STONEHAVEN

V – Z Z E R S



2018 PHILLIP LANCASTER Piara Waters, WA

DAVID CASSIDY Banora Point, NSW

MICK SHARP, QLD

2017 KEN & LORRAINE DOBBIE Devonport, TAS





2019 DARYL & SHANE WALTON Forrestfield, WA

2020 BRAD & JACKIE MURPHY Windemere, QLD



" The annual Tingira Stonehaven Medal is to be awarded annually to the 'Tingira Boy' or Boys who go above and beyond the normal call of duty "

> GREG READ SC Tingira President 2013



2021 JOHN & MEREDITH PERRYMAN Fadden, ACT